e Car Rental Banner

County Westmeath Information

County Westmeath is situated in the east centre of the country and is completely landlocked. Westmeath is surrounded by six counties including Meath, Dublin, Kildare, Offaly, Galway and Roscommon. The main geographical features of the County are drumlins which were left behind by melting glaciers during the Ice Age. The central areas of the County are flatter and with bogs and lakes.

The main town of Westmeath, Athlone, is the most central town in Ireland, and as such is a major crossing point for people travelling around Ireland. Athlone is also a major crossing point of the River Shannon. Christianity was brought to Ireland by Saint Patrick during the 5th century. Evidence of this is borne out by the fact that there are a number of early monasteries through the county. The County used to be a part of Meath until 1542 when it was separated.

Other Points of Interest

- The Normans arrived in 1170 and constructed moats and baileys
- Westmeath is derived from the Irish "an Lar Mh?" meaning the West of Meath.

Estimated Population & Land Area.

The estimated population of Westmeath is 53,236 during the last census. The Land area of Westmeath is 710 sq miles.

Major Towns

- Athlone
- Castlepollard
- Mulyfarnham
- Devlin
- Mullingar
- Moate
- Kinnegad
- Tyrrellspass
- Kilbeggan

For more information about County Westmeath, please do not hesitate to contact e Car Rental in Ireland by email or see our Tourism Information page about Towns, Cities and Counties of Ireland.