e Car Rental Banner

County Waterford Information

County Waterford is situated in the South of Ireland. The County is surrounded by Cork, Tipperary, Kilkenny and Wexford, along with a coastline to the Celtic Sea. The main geographical features of the County include Comeragh, Knockmealdown and Monavullagh mountain ranges. Other important features include the River Blackwater.

The history of Waterford pays testament to the fact that it successfully amalgamated the different races of the native Irish, the Vikings and the Normans. The basis for this surrounds the harbour at Waterford which gave excellent access to Ireland from the sea. Waterford City was designed as a Royal City around 1171.

Other Points of Interest

- The first scientist ever to split atoms was a native of County Waterford
- The name Waterford is derived from the Viking word "Vethrafjorthr" which means weather haven

Estimated Population & Land Area.

The estimated population of Waterford is 94,597 at the last census. The Land area of Waterford is 713 sq miles.

Major Towns

- Portlaw
- Lismore
- Tallow
- Dungarvan
- Waterford
- Tramore
- Dunmore East

For more information about County Waterford, please do not hesitate to contact e Car Rental in Ireland by email or see our Tourism Information page about Towns, Cities and Counties of Ireland.