e Car Rental Banner

County Tyrone Information

County Tyrone is a landlocked county and is one of the six counties that constitute Northern Ireland. County Tyrone is bordered by Lough Neagh and five counties, including County Armagh, County Derry, County Donegal, County Fermanagh and County Monaghan.

Evidence of settlement in Tyrone dates back to 4000 BC as found at the Beaghmore Stone Circles among other burial chambers dotted throughout the county. The hilltop enclosure of Tullyhogue Fort served as the inauguration site for Celtic Kings of Ulster.

Other Interesting Points

- Tyrone is rich in early Christian remains, among which is the Ardboe High Cross and the Donaghmore High Cross
- Tyrone took it's name from the O'Neill Clan. Tyrone is derived from the Gaelic term meaning territory of Eoighan who was one of the sons of Niall, one of the 9 hostages of St. Patrick's abductor.
- The Chieftains of Tyrone were defeated at the Battle of Kinsale in 1601 and shortly after fled the country in what is termed the "Flight of the Earls."

Estimated Population and Land Area

The estimated population of Tyrone after the last census is 152,827 and the land area is 1211 sq miles.

Major Towns

- Strabane
- Castlederg
- Cookstown
- Omagh
- Dungannon
- Augher
- Aughnacloy
- Clogher
- Fivemiletown

For more information about County Tyrone, please do not hesitate to contact e Car Rental in Ireland by email or see our Tourism Information page about Towns, Cities and Counties of Ireland.