County Sligo Information

County Sligo is situated on the North West of Ireland. While a substantial boarder of Sligo is coastline with the North Atlantic, the remainder is surrounded by the counties of Mayo, Leitrim and Roscommon. The main geographical features of the County include steep hills rising from deep valleys and the Ox Mountains. The other geographical features of note are the bays of Killala, Sligo and Donegal.

The history of humans in Sligo dates back to 4000 BC. One of the largest Stone Age cemeteries in Europe is located at Carrowmore, Sligo. The earliest battle over copyright was fought in Sligo when Saint Columcille and Finian fought during ht 6th Century over a bible manuscript. Under ancient Irish law, the copy of a manuscript was owned by the person who owned the original, not the artist. Sligo town was established by the Vikings. An abbey and castle was founded by the Normans which dates back to the 13th Century. However the castle and abbey were destroyed by Sir Frederick Hamilton who burned the town and murdered the inhabitants.

Other Points of Interest

- After being burned, the town was rebuilt as a port town.
- The name Sligo is derived from "Sligeach" meaning Shelly River.

Estimated Population & Land Area.

The estimated population of Sligo is 55,645 at the last census. The Land area of Sligo is 709 sq miles.

Major Towns

- Sligo
- Enniscrone
- Ballymote
- Tobercurry

For more information about County Sligo, please do not hesitate to contact e Car Rental in Ireland by email or see our Tourism Information page about Towns, Cities and Counties of Ireland.