e Car Rental Banner

County Roscommon Information

County Roscommon is situated in the central West of Ireland. The County is totally landlocked, and is surrounded by the Counties of Sligo, Leitrim, Longford, Offaly, Galway and Mayo. The main geographical features of the County include the River Shannon, Lough Ree and the River Suck. The other major geographical feature of County Roscommon is the one third of the County is boglands.

The history of Roscommon is dominated by the many burial mounds, megalithic tombs and ring forts. Rathcroghan which is situated in the centre of the County was home to the Kings of Ireland, the O'Conors and the MacDermotts.

Other Points of Interest

- Nearly all of the lands of Roscommon were confiscated during the plantations
- These lands were reclaimed by the Irish Land Commissions during the 1920s and 1930s.

Estimated Population & Land Area.

The estimated population of Roscommon is 51,881 at the last census. The Land area of Roscommon is 984 sq miles.

Major Towns

- Boyle
- Ballaghaderreen
- Castlerea
- Strokestown
- Roscommon

For more information about County Roscommon, please do not hesitate to contact e Car Rental in Ireland by email or see our Tourism Information page about Towns, Cities and Counties of Ireland.