e Car Rental Banner

County Offaly Information

County Offaly is situated in the centre of Ireland and is totally landlocked. The County is surrounded by six counties including Galway, Tipperary, Laois, Kildare, Westmeath and Longford. The main geographical features of County Offaly are the Slieve Bloom mountain range and the River Shannon. The Clara Bog is the largest totally intact bog in Ireland, and indeed Western Europe.

In the past, the River Shannon acted as the main artery to the County. Clonmacnoise, one of the largest monasteries is located in Offaly. The Danes sailed up the Shannon and raided the monastery. The ruins of Clonmacnoise include a cathedral, three high crosses, two round towers and eight churches. The other major historical structures situated in the County include the Martello Tower and Birr Castle. County Offaly is also home to a giant telescope dating from 1845, and was at one stage one of the largest in the world.

Other Points of Interest

- After the capture of Offaly by England, the County became known as the King's County
- Along with Laois, the county was one of the first Counties to be planted with English and Scottish settlers

Estimated Population & Land Area.

The estimated population of Offaly is 59,080 during the last census. The Land area of Offaly is 771 sq miles.

Major Towns

- Clara
- Tullamore
- Edenderry
- Portarlington
- Ferbane
- Birr

For more information about County Offaly, please do not hesitate to contact e Car Rental in Ireland by email or see our Tourism Information page about Towns, Cities and Counties of Ireland.