County Meath Information

Situated in the east of Ireland, county Meath is almost landlocked, and is surrounded by the counties of Louth, Longford, Westmeath, Offaly, Kildare and Dublin. The main geographic features of the county include a rich and fertile limestone plain. The main river to flow through Meath is the River Boyne.

Historical remains suggest that Meath has been inhabited since 6000 BC. The county is sometimes referred to as the Royal County as it was home to the pagan and Christian Kings of Ireland. The Kings lived on the Hill of Tara, from which the ancient roads of Ireland radiated. The other historical sites of note in County Meath are Newgrange, Knowth and Dowth. Newgrange is an ancient burial chamber which dates back to 5000 BC. On the shortest day of the year the Sun shines through the Chamber. These burial chambers are the oldest Neolithic structures in Europe, and predate the Pyramids and Stone Henge.

Other Points of Interest

- The Battle of the Boyne took place in Meath in 1690 when King William beat King James for the throne of England.
- The Book of Kells (now displayed to the public in Trinity College Dublin) originated in County Meath.
- It is claimed that Saint Patrick received permission to convert Ireland to Christianity at Tara
- The Hill of Tara was also the site of Daniel O'Connell's monster rally which was attended by one million people in 1843

Estimated Population & Land Area.

The estimated population of Meath is 109,371 during the last census. The Land area of Meath is 905 sq miles.

Major Towns

- Kells
- Navan
- Trim
- Dunboyne
- Ashbourne
- Dunsaughlin
- Ratoath

For more information about County Meath, please do not hesitate to contact e Car Rental in Ireland by email or see our Tourism Information page about Towns, Cities and Counties of Ireland.