e Car Rental Banner

County Mayo Information

County Mayo is situated on the wet coast of Ireland with a substantial coastline to the Atlantic. The remainder of the County is surround by the Counties of Galway Roscommon and Leitrim. The main geographical features of County Mayo include the flatlands in the east, the islands of Lough Conn, Lough Mask, Lough Cullin and Lough Carra. Achill island which was once ruled by a pirate Queen is situated off the coast.

The history of Mayo dates back to about 3000 BC. Recently a system of corralled fields and tombs have been discovered in bog land in North Mayo. The early Christian history of the County is mainly concerned with Saint Patrick. The Normans captured Mayo in 1235, and reigned until the invasion of Cromwell.

Other Points of Interest

- The French landed in Mayo in 1798 to help Ireland with the Rising.
- The Land League was first set up in Mayo

Estimated Population & Land Area.

The estimated population of Mayo is 111,395 at the last census. The Land area of Mayo is 2,159 sq miles.

Major Towns

- Belmullet
- Ballina
- Charestown
- Castlebar
- Westport
- Claremorris
- Ballinrobe

For more information about County Mayo, please do not hesitate to contact e Car Rental in Ireland by email or see our Tourism Information page about Towns, Cities and Counties of Ireland.