e Car Rental Banner

County Leitrim Information

County Leitrim is situated in the North West of Ireland. Although mostly a landlocked county, a tiny stretch of Leitrim constitutes of Coastline to the Atlantic. The remainder of the County is surrounded by Counties Sligo, Roscommon, Mayo, Longford, Fermanagh and Cavan. The main geographical features of the county include Loughs MacNean and Melvin and the river Erne. The River Shannon also runs through the County. The canal which was recently restored to join the two waterway systems of the Shannon and Erne runs through the county also.

The O'Rourke clan reigned over Leitrim until the arrival of the Normans, and later the English who confiscated the land for plantation settlers. Towns such as Carrick-on-Shannon, Manorhamilton and Jamestown, which were fortified, were established during this time.

Other Points of Interest

- During the Famine the population decreased from 155,000 to 25,000

Estimated Population & Land Area.

The estimated population of Leitrim is 25,032 at the last census. The Land area of Leitrim is 614 sq miles.

Major Towns

- Manorhamilton
- Dromahair
- Drumshambo
- Leitrim
- Carrick-on-Shannon
- Mohill

For more information about County Leitrim, please do not hesitate to contact e Car Rental in Ireland by email or see our Tourism Information page about Towns, Cities and Counties of Ireland.