e Car Rental Banner

County Kilkenny Information

Kilkenny, similar to Kildare, is totally landlocked. Kilkenny is situated in the South East of the country and is surrounded by six counties, Tipperary, Waterford, Wexford, Wicklow, Kildare and Laois. The County is home to three major rivers, Barrow, Nore and Suir. The fertile river banks of the rivers has made Kilkenny land ideal for livestock.

The history of Kilkenny is rich, and there are the remains of settlements made by the Celts, Vikings, Norman and English. Kilkenny was the medieval capital of Ireland, and still retains much of the Norman origins. Kilkenny Castle dominates the City. The Castle was built between 1192 and 1207 for the son of Strongbow. The castle is still open to the public and from time to time plays are acted out in the courtyard.

Other Points of Interest

- As the old capital of Ireland, Parliament was held in Kilkenny as early as the 14th Century

Estimated Population & Land Area.

The estimated population of Kilkenny is 75,155. The Land area of Kilkenny is 796 sq miles.

Major Towns

- Castlecomer
- Kilkenny
- Callan
- Thomastown

For more information about Kilkenny, please do not hesitate to contact e Car Rental in Ireland by email or see our Tourism Information page about Towns, Cities and Counties of Ireland.