e Car Rental Banner

County Fermanagh Information

County Fermanagh has no sea boarder and is bordered by the Counties of Leitrim, Donegal, Tyrone, Monaghan and Cavan. The main river system of the County is the Erne River, upper and lower, and the Erne Lake system. Recently the Shannon Erne Waterway system was opened to tourist boating traffic after a lengthy closure. The waterway was initially open for only 9 years before the arrival of steam railways in the area. Currently the system is navigated by means of 28 automatic Locks.

The islands and lakes which feature along the waterway system give some idea of the rich Celtic and early Christian heritage and culture. During the medieval era, the Maguires ruled the area, and had a navy of 1500 boats. The lands were confiscated during the 17th century, and eventually planted by Scottish and English settlers.

Other Interesting Points

- County Fermanagh is home to more than its fair share of stately homes, many of which date back to the plantations.
- Enniskillen, the county capital is rich in history and is home ot the medieval Maguire castle.

Estimated Population and Land Area

The estimated population of Fermanagh after the last census is 54,033 and the land area is 647 sq miles.

Major Towns

- Ederney
- Kesh
- Belleek
- Irvinestown
- Derrygonnelly
- Garrison
- Enniskillen
- Tempo
- Fivemiletown
- Maguiresbridge
- Roslea
- Lisnaskea
- Nowtownbutler
- Derrylin

For more information about County Fermanagh, please do not hesitate to contact e Car Rental in Ireland by email or see our Tourism Information page about Towns, Cities and Counties of Ireland.