e Car Rental Banner

County Cork Information

County Cork is situated in the South of Ireland and is surround by the Counties of Kerry, Limerick, Tipperary and Waterford. County Cork is the largest County in Ireland with 2,878 sq miles. The main geographical features of Cork are long ridges of Sandstone which criss cross the county, the Bandon, Lee and Blackwater rivers with their fertile valleys.

County Cork is home to the heaviest concentration of stone circles in Ireland, with around 80 circles located in the area. The religious history of Cork starts with Saint Finbarr who established a Church in the area of Cork City around 820 AD. Parts of Cork still remain Gealtact regions today.

Other Points of Interest

- Kinsale is home to the worlds oldest yacht club which was set up in 1720
- The origin of the name Cork is derived from the Irish "Corcaigh" meaning meaning marsh.
- Both the Titanic and Lusitannia sank after departing from Cobh harbour.

Estimated Population & Land Area.

The estimated population of Cork is 420,346 at the last census. The Land area of Cork is 2,878 sq miles.

Major Towns

- Charleville
- Mitchelstown
- Mallow
- Kanturk
- Fermoy
- Macroom
- Cork
- Youghal
- Cobh
- Bandaon
- Kinsale
- Bantry
- Skibbereen

For more information about County Cork, please do not hesitate to contact e Car Rental in Ireland by email or see our Tourism Information page about Towns, Cities and Counties of Ireland.