e Car Rental Banner

County Carlow Information

County Carlow is totally landlocked, and is surrounded by Wicklow, Laois, Kilkenny and Wexford. At only 346 Sq Miles Carlow is the second smallest county in Ireland. The main geographical features of Carlow are the rivers of Barrow, Slaney and Suck with the granite formed Blackstairs Mountains in the East.

During early Christian times, Carlow was the site of many monasteries built on the fertile banks of the rivers. Unfortunately, most of these monasteries were destroyed by the Vikings. Carlow remained a stronghold of the Gaelic chieftains until the Cromwellian plantations of the 1650s.

Other Points of Interest

- The fertile nature of the land in Carlow has contributed to the violent history of the County.
- County Carlow was one of the main locations during the 1798 rising at Salt hill were over 600 rebels were slaughtered.

Estimated Population & Land Area.

The estimated population of Carlow is 41,616 at the last census. The Land area of Carlow is 346 sq miles.

Major Towns

- Fathvilly
- Hacketstown
- Carlow
- Tullow
- Ballon
- Muine Bheag
- Borris

For more information about County Carlow, please do not hesitate to contact e Car Rental in Ireland by email or see our Tourism Information page about Towns, Cities and Counties of Ireland.